top of page

For the love of books

scroll for more 

The Old Man and the Sea


Hemingway's The Old Man and the Sea was an interesting classic for me to read. Its pace and "simple" vocabulary made it easy to digest while it presented more complex ideas. I enjoyed reading about Santiago and his determination in life. The Old Man and the Sea made me reevaluate my own way of living, as Santiago had been so unsuccessful but was persistent in achieving his goal. I learned Hemingway cannot write a story without an upsetting ending of course. Santiago is eventually defeated, however, he had put up a fight to get what he wanted. The fish was incredibly large and brought Santiago praise and sympathy for the great loss. For me, his apprentice standing by him in the end was the greatest part of the story.


© 2016

bottom of page