top of page

For the love of books

scroll for more 

Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania


After reading several books by Erik Larson recently, I took interest in reading Dead Wake as well. I had very little knowledge of the first World War before reading this book, so I enjoyed having the insight of personal stories from the ship that involved the United States. Larson presents information in a way that feels like a story, making history more exciting than it seems. I especially enjoy learning about submarines and the lives the sailors lived inside them. The German U-Boat that sunk the Lusitania was ruthless in the seas but I never realized how vulnerable they really were. I was incredibly shocked at how fast the Lusitania sank, 18 minutes. Dead Wake definitely increased my interest in the Great War.


© 2016

bottom of page