top of page

For the love of books

scroll for more 

The Secret Rescue


I read this book as a tangent of my research on the nurses trapped on Bataan. I was looking for connections between the two experiences, though this journey was very different from the Death March. I know very little about Albania and even less of its status during the second World War. I found this book fascinating not only because of the physical difficulty of traversing a country, but also how different life was in the Balkan country. Reading about the incredible distances the party covered while in poor conditions made me reflect on the time I did my 50k in the mud. I believe I was able to better understand what they went through after having my own unpleasant experience... although mine was by choice and I wasn't starving.


© 2016

bottom of page