top of page

For the love of books

scroll for more 

The Harlem Hellfighters


This was the first non-fiction graphic novel I've ever read. I loved reading this book because the illustrations added an interactive element to the information. I am very much a visual person, so having the scenes laid out helped me make more sense of the story. The Harlem Hellfighters presented to me a new aspect of the fighting in WWI. I learned more about Black soldiers and their help in winning the war for a country that didn't even want them. The powerful images by Caanan White are descriptive without containing any words--they show the prolific racism in the United States at the start of the century. I read this after reading Dead Wake, which was intriguing in its own way, but it really brought a new perspective on the war from a Black soldier's point of view.


© 2016

bottom of page