top of page

For the love of books

scroll for more 

Bataan: The March of Death


Before I started research for my Capstone, I actually knew little to nothing about the War in the Pacific. Falk tells the story without any anecdotes from soldiers. Diving right into the gruesome scene, I felt dissociated from the events that occurred. What was more surprising than the brutality of their (American/Filipino's) captors, was the brutality of the training of their captors. Many interesting points were brought up about the Japanese's own shortage of supplies--could they really have spared food for the 70,000 prisoners when they expected less than half that number? This book posed many reflective questions of belief for myself as well. Many of these men were roughly my age--some lied to join the armed forces, one marcher was 15 years old--and I am left forever thinking of a statement the author made... exhausted and delirious from disease "the men looked to death and thought they saw a friend."


© 2016

bottom of page